top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavis Period

Sharing is Caring – The Unspoken Rule with Periods




Have you ever been in a public bathroom and realized you got your period? And then you realize you have no tampons? Me too! Thankfully, the people around me, whether they’ve been my friend for two years or two minutes, are always willing to spare one for a person in need.


Believe it or not, growing up I felt very insecure about having a period. I was especially nervous about people knowing when I was on my period. I remember, every time I went to the bathroom, I would very quietly open my period products hoping no one would hear me. I also remember when I’d grab a tampon or pad out of my bag, I would always make sure to hide them in my sleeve. Being an adult now, I realize that there is OBVIOUSLY having your period to be insecure or embarrassed about, but it took a lot of years and many friendly encounters with random people to help me overcome this.


My insecurities began to dissolve when someone asked me for the first time if I had a tampon or pad that they could borrow. I was in middle school and someone from my class had started their cycle, but they did not have period products on them. They leaned over to me and whispered, “I just got my period, do you have a tampon or pad I can borrow?” Their confidence in asking me, even when they did not know me very well at all, impressed and inspired me. My answer was yes, and I gladly grabbed a pad out of my bag and gave it to them. This moment sparked something within me that helped me realize there’s nothing embarrassing about saying the word “period” and about people knowing you’re experiencing it. And I was also very happy to help a fellow menstruator out. This was my first time practicing the unspoken rule that we all share our pads and tampons with those who need one.


My feelings toward my period started to change as I began asking those around me if they had a tampon, and vice versa. I realized how large, giving, and accepting our community is. I had random people on the bus asking if I had a tampon to spare and I have even asked people that I would not otherwise talk to if they had a pad I could borrow. What I realize is, we always say yes! Even if the person doesn’t like you, this community extends the kindness of sharing to everyone who needs it. If we have something on us, we are willing and happy to share.


Everyone I’ve met so far who menstruates, and even many non-menstruators, have followed this “unspoken rule” — the rule that we help each other when we need it and that we are open to sharing and caring for people even if we do not know them. In doing this, we make periods feel more welcomed and, just as importantly, people feel more welcomed.


As a habit, I always try to have a tampon on me. Whether it’s for me, or the very possible chance that someone I meet today might need one. I, for one, think that this unspoken rule is one of the most beautiful results of humanity and menstruation. And this kindness, I’m sure, has opened the door for many of us to feel comfortable and to be proud of ourselves and of our periods.


My parting words for you are, if you can, try to always keep a pad and/or a tampon on you, because you never know when you or someone else is going to need it and you never know the impact you will have on someone because of it. Who knows, you might even make a new friend.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page