top of page
  • Stella Baum

Non-Hormonal IUD – A personal experience



Hi, my name is Stella and I have the ParaGard IUD as my form of birth control. I  first started looking into various birth control methods when I was 16 years old. I initially  started on the ring because I believed it to be a little less maintenance than the pill,  which I did not think was a good choice for me because I knew I would forget or be too  lazy to take it. However, I found that I didn’t like the ring, so I looked into other low-maintenance options for birth control. This led me to the ParaGard IUD. 

While talking to my doctor she said she recommends the ParaGard IUD to those  who have a very easy and manageable period — this means a light flow and little  cramping. Prior to getting the IUD in, I found my period to be very manageable so I  thought this would be a good fit for me. I later booked an appointment and got the  ParaGard IUD.  

The day of the procedure I was advised to take 2 Advil an hour before the  appointment. I was told by my doctor that the procedure would be easier if I got it in  while I was on my period, so I made sure to book one during that window. I was very  nervous because of the stories I had heard about the procedure.  

During the procedure my doctor gave me a step-by-step play through, before and, during the procedure. I appreciated having someone let me know what was going to happen as it was happening, she let me know that I may feel some cramping (which is totally true, probably the worst cramps I have ever experienced). The duration of the  procedure was about 5-10 minutes. I was cramping very hard for a couple days after  and bleeding on and off for at least a couple weeks. I was unsure of how my period  would be now that I had gotten the IUD. 

I had been very accustomed to my old period as I had been menstruating for  about 5 years at that point. I had assumed it would just be a level up from my old and  manageable period, but my first cycle after getting my IUD was brutal. My flow was a  lot heavier, my cycle lasted longer, my cramps were way more painful than before, and I  even noticed some hormonal changes as well.  

Every period for the next year after was very painful and I kept noticing new  symptoms of my period. It was like I was 11 getting my first period again and it is  switching every month. I could not predict my cycle, but all I knew then was that it was  a lot more painful and a lot heavier.

For months after that I was considering getting it taken out as the pain was so  bad each period, but now I’ve had it in for about 4 years and while my flow is still super  heavy, and my cramps are way worse, it has dialed down. This took me about 2 years  to get used to it and for my symptoms to be identifiable. 

I think what bothers me the most about the procedure and aftermath is that I feel  like my pain was not understood by many. My doctor was very nice and helpful, and  personally I was fine taking two Advil prior to the procedure, but for many people who  get this type of invasive procedure, they might prefer to have some local anesthetic, which I was not offered. When people asked me what the pain of the procedure was like I would say it was like the beginning stages of labor, not that I’ve ever been in labor before.  Adding on, I felt like people did not understand how much more difficult my menstrual cycle had become for me.  

In my opinion, I love my IUD. It works for me, it works as birth control, and it lasts  for 10 years. I don’t have to remember to take a pill every day, and I still get my cycle.  For me, in the end, I do believe getting the IUD was the best birth control for me. But  that’s not to say it did not have its trials and tribulations. It took time for my body to  adjust to it and get comfortable with it, for others they may not, and it may not be right  for them, and that’s okay! The IUD was not the first birth control I tried, and it is all  about finding what works best for you! It is okay to try and deny.  

6 views0 comments
bottom of page